Monday, January 28, 2013

And the winner is....

For the full list of awards and winners, see the ALA Press Release here.

Newberry Medal Winner:
"The One and Only Ivan" by Katherine Applegate

Caldecott Winner:
 "This Is Not My Hat" by Jon Klassen 

Coretta Scott King (Author) Winner:

"Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America," by Andrea Davis Pinkney and Brian Pinkney

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Winner:

I, Too, Am America,” by Bryan Collier

Newberry Honor:
"Splendors and Glooms" by Laura Amy Schlitz
"Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World's Most Dangerous Weapon" by Steve Sheinkin 
"Three Times Lucky" by Sheila Turnage 

Caldecott Honor:
"Creepy Carrots!" by Peter Brown and Aaron Reynolds 
"Extra Yarn," Jon Klassen and Mac Barnett
"Green," by Laura Vaccaro Seeger 
"One Cool Friend ," by David Small and Toni Buzzeo
"Sleep Like a Tiger," by Pamela Zagarenski and Mary Logue 

Coretta Scott King (Author) Honor:
“Each Kindness” by Jacqueline Woodson,and E. B. Lewis 
“No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem Bookseller” by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson and R. Gregory Christie

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Honor:
H. O. R. S. E.,” by Christopher Myers
“Ellen’s Broom,” by Daniel Minter and Kelly Starling Lyons a
“I Have a Dream: Martin Luther King, Jr.” by Kadir Nelson and Martin Luther King, Jr.