Friday, January 6, 2017

Book Review: Our Chemical Hearts

Henry Page doesn’t mean to fall in love with Grace Town, the new girl in school.  She is a mess.  She wears weird clothes, smells weird, acts weird, and doesn’t seem to care about anything or anyone.  But when Henry is thrown together with her as a co-editor of the school newspaper, he can’t help but be drawn to her, and a friendship blossoms.  But then things get...complicated.  Henry discovers that Grace is recovering from an serious accident that killed her long-term boyfriend.  Can Henry possibly compete romantically with the ghost of a past love?

Our Chemical Hearts, by Krystal Sutherland, is a serious book about a romance that happens in the wrong time and wrong place.  Grace is obviously disturbed and grieving, but genuinely seems to care for Henry.  Henry believes in love and truly loves Grace, but can he have a future with someone who is living in the past?  Find out in Our Chemical Hearts, by Krystal Sutherland.  Great for readers who enjoy John Green or Rainbow Rowell books.